bakerybites

Upside-down Persimmon Sour Cream Cake

In breakfast, cake, fruit on December 1, 2010 at 00:37

Week 40 | 12.1.2010

December 1st. Welcome back from a festive break! I’m re-energized to test out a “stack” of new recipes after a couple of weeks off.

I’ve been eating persimmons nonstop since they first popped-up in the market a few weeks back. I can’t seem to get enough of the pumpkin-apple, caramel-sweetness of this gorgeous fruit. The Fuyu kind mind you. Hachiya’s are delicious but almost too  *gasp*, too sweet for me. I also like the clean crunch of Fuyu’s A proper fall fruit.

Normally I’m loathed to tamper with any fruit that is so purely delicious on its own. Cook with peaches in the summer? blend a papaya into a smoothie? Never! But there is such a bounty of these guys hanging around that I’m willing to sacrifice a few. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

