bakerybites

Oven Out-of-Service – a Trio of Macarons

In chocolate, cookie, nuts, Uncategorized on August 25, 2010 at 14:19

Week 28 | 8.25.2010
Oh oven, we were getting along so well. I made a batch of macarons for a dinner party, then another, and then another. We were having such a good time together that I decided to make a chocolate granola snack to round out our day-long companionship. But somewhere in between macaron batch #3 and rotating the granola at the halfway point, you gave up on me and turned cold…

I’ve been dealing with the temporary loss of my oven for the past half a week. Originally I had plans for the 2 quarts of fresh goat’s milk in my fridge to be turned into a pastry cream, which would then fill a puff pastry tart and be topped with some roasted apricots. Sounds delicious, but my oven is putting up a fuss so goat’s milk apricot tart is no more – for this week.

Instead those macarons, batch # 1, 2 & 3 never made it to the canceled dinner party. Be prepared for Caramelized Cinnamon, Ginger & Roasted White Chocolate, and Dark Chocolate Macarons.

Oven, let’s be friends again soon I hope.

Thursday

Macarons filled – cinnamon caramel and butter whipped together, a dense chocolate ganache in dark and roasted white chocolate. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

