bakerybites

French Macarons II

In chocolate, cookie, fruit on June 23, 2010 at 07:44

Week 19 | 6.21.2010

About a month ago I dished out the latest American trend in French treats. Macarons. (Find a fun pronunciation guide here). They’re everywhere, but still not enough to go around! So here they are again.

Depending on whether I find passion fruits in the market this week, I’d like to try the filling with a white chocolate passion fruit ganache. Otherwise I’ll settle for dark chocolate and blackberry ganache from last year’s jam pile that I am slowly working my way through. (I’ve heard that jams reach their peak a few months to a year after they are first jarred, so you just may be in for a treat).

Tuesday

Egg separation: aging the whites. Ice cream sure to be in the works later this week : )

Wednesday

Shells piped, resting and waiting to dry.

Quick run to the market, I spy passion fruit!

I immediately chose the 4 smoothest globes to pocket home, until an employee split one open for me to try (picking a wrinkly, older one). The wrinkles show ripeness = sweetness. Ah, good to note.

Macarons, I have you figured out!

Thursday

White chocolate passion fruit ganache & blackberry dark chocolate ganache!


  1. alice, you got feet!

  2. […] with butter for creaminess. Simple but oh man, so tasty. Not to subject you too soon to yet another round of macarons (my discovery batch of curd ultimately wound up here), it’s back to tarts. Stay […]

  3. […] behind with updating my blog and backlogged for the next week’s treat. Here’s a hint of what’s to come! LikeBe the first to like this post.▶ No Responses /* 0) { […]

Leave a comment