bakerybites

Buttermilk Custard Tartlette

In custard, tart on March 15, 2010 at 08:05

Week 5 | 3.18.2010

Has it already been a month? Focusing on making one item each week is wonderful. I look forward to Thursday mornings when I sample a freshly baked up treat of the week that you guys will enjoy later that day.

Silky custard pie. That sounds like a tasty mouthful. I mentioned a few weeks ago that tarts are one of my favorite desserts. I used to be a cake person – chocolate ganache cakes and vanilla sponge with cream and fresh fruits for my birthdays. But my sister’s birthday request was always the same fresh fruit and custard tart. She was onto something way before I was. So let’s turn this tangy traditional Southern pie into a tart.

Monday

Starting with sweet pastry dough chillin’ in the fridge.

Wednesday

And ending with something like this. The filling is light and tart, almost like a rich, set pudding. Since there are only a few flavors in this simple tart, a pinch of nutmeg and vanilla, the buttermilk is really highlighted – good for those who like buttermilk, or tangy-sweet things. Enjoy.


  1. […] I wonder why I don’t make cake more often. Other than the fact that tarts clearly trump cake, I also realized by the state of my kitchen yesterday afternoon that cakes are simply more […]

Leave a Reply

