bakerybites

Candied Lemon Oat Scones

In breakfast on March 1, 2010 at 19:29

Week 3 | 3.4.2010

The lemon zest has been candied and this week’s treats are in the works. I noticed these organic lemons from (Twin Girls Farm) at the market for only slightly more than regular ones. Zest, candy, lemons…organic is a good way to go this time around. Lemon zest on the left, cocktail grapefruit on the right.

Wednesday update: lemon curd chilling in the fridge, to pair with the scones. Slightly tart, creamy with a bite.

Lemon curd is one of those things that was always a bit mysterious to me. I’ve only ever though of it coming from a jar (like peanut butter), but once I tried putting a batch together for a lemon tart I discovered how terribly easy it is to make. It also tastes better freshly made. The few dozen recipes I’ve sorted through all call for some combination of eggs (or yolks), sugar, lemon juice, butter, and a pinch of salt.

Thursday: The baking begins once I return from photographing the MARCH 4th protest!

Here it is! The oats and whole wheat make this a hearty bite. I love these still warm from the oven but just cooled enough to have developed a bit of a caramelized crust around the edges.

Every time I walk into the house I’m enjoying the enticing butter and sugar scent that has temporarily been baked into my walls.

**Next week’s treat has me excited. It’s been in the works for some time now… but I won’t give it away ’til Saturday.

  1. This pastry is my dream come true. And so are you. Ah! Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

